I'm making a small game in which you can choose the amount of points needed for victory. You play until either cpu_point or player_point is equal to (or greater than) the rounds. You get one point per win.

What I'm having trouble with is the while check. I'd like to shorten the code by using "or". Either I've completely misunderstood the use of "or" in Python, or my syntax is wrong.

Neither

while rounds > player_point or cpu_point:

nor

while rounds > player_point or rounds > cpu_point:

gives me the desired effect.

The former just keeps playing endlessly, while the latter is acting like an "AND", meaning that both cpu_point and player_point have to reach the mark before the game ends.

The solution is probably really obvious to seasoned programmers, but I'm still learning the basics.

Thanks for reading.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

You can try

while rounds > max(player_point, cpu_point)

Two things.

while rounds > player_point or cpu_point:

This goes on forever because of the order of operator precedence. In this case, comparison operators are checked before boolean operators. So on the first move python will convert it to say: while <True | False> or cpu_point. The true | false simply signifying that it may be true or false, it doesn't honestly matter. The next move it sees is to do <Boolean value> or <integer value>. Since or requires each side be a boolean value, it will convert the integer value into a boolean value. If the interger value is 0, then it will become false, if the integer value is ANYTHING other than 0, it will become true.

Thus your equation is evaluating to either True or False, True or True, or False or True. It can never be false or false - which would kick you from the loop. I hope this all made sense.

Now for the second equation.

while rounds > player_point or rounds > cpu_point: