Hi there,

This is my first time working with an unsafe language, so naturally my first code would be full of memory-related bugs. I still have no idea how I ought to approach some of the problems I've been getting, and I've been resisting asking for help as much as I could.

The assignment I've been given is a buttload of work, so I'd rather not bog anyone down with too much of it. At the moment, I'm trying to work out how to design a menu() function that gives main() both the function choice the user wants and the arguments for that function. Here's what I've got so far:

struct REPLY {
	char use[256];
	char pass[256];
	char type[64];
	char nuse[256];
	char npass[256];
	char ntype[64];
	int option;
};

struct REPLY *reply;

int menu (void)
{
	int o;
	printf("Please type a number corresponding to the following options:\n");
	printf("1. Add\n");
	printf("2. Delete\n");
	printf("3. Edit\n");
	printf("4. Purge\n");
	printf("5. Quit\n");
	scanf("Selection: %i\n", o);
	reply->option=o;
	printf("\n\n%i\n\n\n", reply->option);
	switch(reply->option){
		case '1':
		{
			printf("Please provide the username.\n");
			scanf("%s\n", &reply->use);
			printf("Please provide the password.\n");
			scanf("%s\n", &reply->pass);
			printf("Please provide the user type.\n");
			scanf("%s\n", &reply->type);
			break;
		}
		case '2':
		{
			scanf("%s\n",&reply->use);
			break;
		}
		case '3':
		{
			printf("Please provide the password.\n");
			printf("Please provide the new username.\n");
			scanf("%s\n",&reply->nuse);
			printf("Please provide the new password.\n");
			scanf("%s\n",&reply->npass);
			printf("Please provide the new user type.\n");
			scanf("%s\n",&reply->ntype);
			break;
		}
		case '4':
		{
			break;
		}
		case '5':
		{
			break;
		}
	}

return 0;
}

This code is saved as menu.c, which is included in the inclusion statements of the main function. I'm getting a segmentation fault at

reply->option=o;