hey, everyone. I am still learning templtes and I have 2 questions:
1-Why is it that all the examples of templates I have seen are about arrays?Is that all templates are used for?

2-after pondering about the above question, I decided to try something else witha template..a generic unction.
However the program just hangs when I run it. Only one object is created(because I always put a sentence in my constructors, to know when an object is created. the sentence appears only once.)
Can someone help me out? Thanks in advance!![

#include<iostream>
#include<string>
using namespace std;

template<class T>
 class display{
 public:
 T dat1,dat2;
 display():dat1(0),dat2(0){
 cout<<"Display's constructor"<<endl;
 }
 ~display(){
 cout<<"Display's destructor"<<endl;
 }
 T add(T& dat1,T& dat2){
 cout<<dat1 + dat2<<endl<<"add() has executed"<<endl;
 return dat1+dat2;
 }
};
 int main()
{
 int dati1=34,dati2=60;
 string dats1("Tobi is a "),dats2("very good boy");
 display<int>intd;
 display<string>stringd;
 intd.add(dati1,dati2);
 stringd.add(dats1,dats2);
 return 0;
}

"Show me your code and I will tell you who you are.."-Tkud

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

hey, everyone. I am still learning templtes and I have 2 questions:
1-Why is it that all the examples of templates I have seen are about arrays?Is that all templates are used for?

I suppose because containers are the most prominent and easy-to-explain examples when it comes to introducing templates - its probably safe to say that you'll encounter a vector very early on in your C++ learning, and a vector is a great example of an application of templates.
Beyond that, templates can be (*ab)used for some immensely complicated, mind-bending solutions to address some very large and difficult problems.