Hi All,

I am extremely new to C++ and would greatly appreciate any advice regarding the following question:

I am trying to create a 2D array of CStrings, however it needs to be declared dynamically for my application. I have read up on numerous forums but I just cant seem to find what I am looking for.

From what I have read the best way to do this would be to use a vector of CStrings. However, I am not to sure how to declare this.

What I would like to be able to do is adress any CString in the following way:

myarray[0][0] = "hello";

Each example I have found requires me to first set the size of the array in the declaration before compilation.

Please could someone point me in the right direction?

Contributors
Replies
Views
8 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by Clinton Portis

What you are asking for can be a very useful data structure... if created dynamically can have about the same performance as a vector and might even be more efficient (a vector might allocate more memory than what you actually need based on the number of push_back() opearations) In either case, here is how you can do both:

The creation of a 2d array is like having a 'pointer to a bunch of pointers':

//create the array pointer (holds the address to the beginning of a block of allocated memory)

//create 2d array of pointers to cstrings
char* words = new char*[wordcount];

//allocate memory for each cstring pointer
for(int i=0; i<wordcount; i++)
{
     wordcount[i] = new char[20];
}
//Now you have words[word#][individual char] array of cstrings, each can hold a word of (in this case 19 chars or less)

//Now you can perform cool cstring operations:
//'Add' to an existing cstring (in this case, the second cstring of the array)
strcat(words[2], " a good day");

If you want to use more modern c++ techniques as opposed to using the older C style character arrays, here is how ye' would declare a 'vector of char vectors'