I am currently a student in computer Information Technology and I would like to ask those of you who are experienced working in this field.
I didn't really know what forum to post this, so I am posting in Python because I love the language and have posted here before.

1) What kind of programs would I write if I where a network programmer?

2) What languages would be required?

3) What field would you recommend getting into. "I.E. Security, Technician, Network Admin... ect"

4) What states would be the best to get a job in?

5) Could I work at home?

Those are the basic questions. Any extra information, comments, and experiences are welcome. Thank you for your time.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Hello, I am in a similar position and would be interested to get some more feedback on some of these topics. Although I'm pretty much a hobbiest programmer but I think if you are dealing with anything as far as security goes you would be pretty much dead in the water without having a good programming background. I also been playing around with javascript and php for now. Needless to say once I started diving into programming my eyes opened wide up as to the need for people in the security field :). But I'm sure depending on what type of job you take will intell what you will be using your skills for. If you want to be a network admin for someplace I'm sure you will be mainly keeping up on current threats, customizing your companies own security measures and things of that nature. I suppose you could look for jobs at companies that specialize in that type of thing, and might be writing codes to prevent and remove viruses. Anyhow it would be nice if somebody else had some good info on this topic, as I'm a student right now to and havn't really been out in the feild yet :).