Hello,

I'm a newbie here and also to Perl... Have a big task of finding the lines of the form from a file

ATOM 1 N LYS A 257 -5.036 -29.330 -27.709 1.0041.51 N
ATOM 2 CA LYS A 257 -3.873 -29.331 -26.757 1.00 41.55 C
....n lines
Then, save it in array format and also calculate dist=sqrt[ (xi-xj)^2+(yi-yj)^2+(zi-zj)^2] for atom12, atom 23 and so on...(x= -5.036,y=-29.330,z=-27.709 for Atom 1 values indicated above).
Please help me....Thanks a tonne in adv....

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Reading from a file in array context will get you all the lines in the file:

@array = <$fh> #where $fh is your file handle

If the atoms are in order (1, 2, 3) etc, and you need to get specific values from them, use split:

my @atom1 = split / /, $array[0] #first line is in 0th position of array

There's probably a more efficient way of doing what you want, but that was the first thing that came to my mind.

When the original poster says read all the data for all the atoms into an array it sounds like an array of arrays. There is no such thing in Perl but you can get the same result using an array of references to arrays. There are tutorials such as http://perldoc.perl.org/perlreftut.html which may help.

Or, putting aside my array of references suggestion (because trying it that way gave me a headache) and building on what ItecKid said, you could do it as follows:

#!/usr/bin/perl -w
use strict;
use math::Complex;
#CalcDistAtoms.pl
my (@atoms,@x,@y,@z);

# I appended the data to this program.
# If you open a file instead, @atoms = <whatever you called your file handle>
@atoms = <DATA>;
foreach my $row (@atoms){
    my @temp = split(/ /,$row);
    my $n = $temp[1];
    $x[$n] = $temp[6];
    $y[$n] = $temp[7];
    $z[$n] = $temp[8];
}
print "Distance between atom 1 and atom 2 is ", calcdist(1, 2);
sub calcdist {
    my ($i, $j) = @_;
    my $dist = sqrt(($x[$i] - $x[$j])**2 + ($y[$i] - $y[$j])**2 + ($z[$i] - $z[$j])**2);
    }

__DATA__