i everybody, I am required to find out if the following is a standard practice to create a subclass.

Take for instance, I have to create a class library (ClLib) with 2 classes using Visual Studio: Class1.cs & Class2.cs.

Next, I open up the .CSPROJ file of ClLib and modify the following line:

<Compile Include="Class2.cs" />

to become

<Compile Include="Class2.cs" >
       <DependentUpon> Class1.cs </DependentUpon>

Can any kind soul help me solve this question? Your help would be greatly appreciated!

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Why don't you just create a class in the designer and let the IDE/compiler handle it? I have never modified a project file like you're talking about

Why don't you just create a class in the designer and let the IDE/compiler handle it? I have never modified a project file like you're talking about

could you please elaborate? I am a newbie in class library.

How about you tell us what your problem is? Why are you trying to modify your .csproj? Will something not compile? Can you upload a sample? Where did you read about modifying your project file like this?

How about you tell us what your problem is? Why are you trying to modify your .csproj? Will something not compile? Can you upload a sample? Where did you read about modifying your project file like this?

Hi there, I need to do a project, and my supervisor has requested me to create a subclass within a class library. Right now, I can only create a subclass by editing the .csproj file. I know it's not a feasible idea, but I cannot find any other ways to create it. Besides, I need to find out if my method is a standard practice, and if it is not a standard practice, I would need to know the correct method of doing it.

I have gotten my reference from this website: http://www.delarou.net/weblog/2006/11/21/VisualStudioNETMacroForNestingProjectItems.aspx