public ref class Form1 : public System::Windows::Forms::Form
	{

public:
		Form1(void)
		{

When I'm inside one of its method, I can use calls like:

this->StartPosition = FormStartPosition::Manual;

thanks to the this pointer.

How can I do this kind of calls from a routine that's not part of the class?

I obviously need a handle to the instance of the class, but I don't know how to get it.

The app starts with:

Application::Run(gcnew Form1());

but trying to change into:

Form1 ff = gcnew Form1();
Application::Run(ff);

gives a compiler error.

I'm new to C++, and there is probably something basic that I don't understand.

Thanks.

Contributors
Replies
Views
7 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by BobFX

it probably want's you to declare 'ff as a 'Form1*', but i could be wrong since i've never seen the 'gcnew' operator before.

it probably want's you to declare 'ff as a 'Form1*', but i could be wrong since i've never seen the 'gcnew' operator before.

Probably Form^ ff , depending on which version of CLR.

>>I'm new to C++,
If you are trying to learn c++ than stay away from CLR and Forms because that is almost another language in itself.

Edited by Ancient Dragon: n/a

Probably Form^ ff , depending on which version of CLR.

That creates a generic Form form, but not an instance of Form1.

If you are trying to learn c++ than stay away from CLR and Forms because that is almost another language in itself.

I have a project that needs to be written in C++/CLI, and Forms seem easy to program, aside the problem mentionned above.

I meant to say Form1^ ff = gnew Form1; Current version of CLR does not allow you to use * instead of ^. And you can not use gnew without the ^.

I meant to say Form1^ ff = gnew Form1; Current version of CLR does not allow you to use * instead of ^. And you can not use gnew without the ^.

"Form1^ ff = gcnew Form1" works, thanks, but ff cannot be declared as global or static variable.