I have been asked to program a spellchecker in C for an assignment. I am quite new to C and programming in general, so I have decided to start by writing a program that does the following:

• Reads words into an array from a dictionary text file.
  • Reads words into an array from a sample file that needs to be spellchecked.
  • Compares whether or not each word form the sample file is in the dictionary using a binary search algorithm.

Here is my code so far:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>

int read_words(char *dict[20]);
int read_text(char *sample[3]);
int comparison(char *dict[20], char *sample[3]);

int main()
{
    char *dict[20];   //pointer to array 'dict'
    char *sample[3];  // pointer to array 'sample'

read_words(dict);
    read_text(sample);
    comparison(dict, sample);

}

int read_words(char *dict[20])   //copies each word from the file 'words.txt' into array 'dict'
{
    FILE *words_ptr;    //pointer for words.txt
    int i;    
    char temp_word[20];  
    char *new_word;

words_ptr = fopen( "words.txt", "r" );
    if( words_ptr != NULL )
    {
        printf( "File words.txt opened\n");
        i=0;
        while (fgets( temp_word, 20, words_ptr )) 
        {
              new_word = (char*)calloc(strlen(temp_word), sizeof(char)); //ensuring new_word will be the right size
              strcpy(new_word, temp_word);     //copy contents of temp_word to new_word
              dict[i] = new_word;               //copy contents of new_word to i'th element of dict array
              printf("printing out dict[%d]: %s\n", i, dict[i]); 
              i++;
        }  
        printf("printing out dictionary1: %s\n", dict[1]);

fclose( words_ptr );
        return 0;
    }
    else {printf( "Unable to open file words.txt\n" ); return 1;}

}

int read_text(char *sample[3]) //copies each word from the file 'text.txt' into array 'sample'
{
    //this works exactly the same way as the read_words function
    FILE *text_ptr;
    int j;