Hi! I have a dropdown that is populated by a hashtable. THis part is working fine. But, I have to select an option in this dropdown according to information I get from a SQL Query.

It's like this:

The field in the table can have 0 - 3
0 First
1 Second
2 Third
3 Fourth

I need to display a drop down with all options, which I did through using a hashtable.

Hashtable ht = new Hashtable;
ht.Add("0", "First");
ht.Add("0", "Second");
ht.Add("0", "Third");
ht.Add("0", "Fourth");

lstPlace.DataSource = ht;
lstPlace.DataTextField = "value";
lstPlace.DataValueField = "key";
lstPlace.DataBind;

I was wondering how to have lstPlace now have a certain option selected according to info in the DB. I tried a SQLDataSource, but that didn't seem to work. I am really new to C# so any help would be appreciated. Or if I'm headed the wrong way, letting me know the correct patht would be appreciated, too.

Thanks,

D

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

well you can do this with bounding your combobox,
that will be a easy way for you.............:)

In ASP.net I know of is

lstPlace.selectedValue=yourValue;

as well as

lstPlace.selectedIndex=yourIndex;

depending upon your requirement will select a particular entry in the drop down list.
Note that C# is case sensitive and my code above might be incorrect for that reason.

As far as hashtable goes, you will need different keys, in your example you are using only "0".

You can have data sources such as datatable or arraylist or dataset. In case of arraylist, the objects in the arraylist at runtime, need the public properties named as your strings in DataTextField / DataValueField.

In case of table, the DataTextField/DataValueField column names.

Please close thread if this helps.

well you can do this with bounding your combobox,
that will be a easy way for you.............:)