I am a linux newbie and I am wondering why some software developed for python is usually installed by doing "python setup.py install".
What is it doing?
what is the different of this comparing to "compile from source"?

For instance, a package in this form: numpy-1.3.0.tar.gz
I was told by the web author that I should untar this, then do "python setup.py install"
but then again I was told package in gunzip must be a source package, which I should compile from source,
that is ./configure makefile make..........

which approach should I use?Which has the lowest chance of a error in installation/?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

What is your linux distribution ? Many python modules are distributed as linux packages which you should install with your software manager. For example in Ubuntu, you should run the command sudo apt-get install python-numpy python-scipy . In Mandriva, there are also packages python-numpy and python-scipy.

OpenSuse 10.3
It got Yast, and seemingly no such package
it also have zypper, but no package

There are packages here for more recent versions of Suse. Perhaps you should upgrade your distro ?

what do you mean by "distro"?
The link you provided do not have one for SuSe 10.3~~

what do you mean by "distro"?
The link you provided do not have one for SuSe 10.3~~

Distro is...

By 'distro' I mean 'linux distribution'. Why don't you install opensuse 11.x ?
Back to your original question: python setup.py install is part of a python installation system called setuptools. It's generally used for pure python modules. The sequence ./configure make make install is part from a C installation system called gnu build tools. It's generally used for C programs, and also for python modules written in C (like numpy).