Hey guys,

I'm new to C and I am trying to find a way to create a file with the following array:

char peer1_0[] = {
0x0c, 0x4c, 0x08, 0x00 };

The original array has a lot more data, but I am just needing a simple example or concept that will help me in the long run. I would try searching but don't know exactly what to search for.

Thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hey guys,

I'm new to C and I am trying to find a way to create a file with the following array:

char peer1_0[] = {

The original array has a lot more data, but I am just needing a simple example or concept that will help me in the long run. I would try searching but don't know exactly what to search for.

Thanks in advance!

to start this could help :

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <cstdlib>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    char peer1_0[] = {0x0c, 0x4c, 0x08, 0x00 };

ofstream out("out.txt");

if(out.is_open())
    {
        int array_elements = sizeof(peer1_0) / sizeof(char);

for(int i=0; i<array_elements; i++)
        {
            out << peer1_0[i] << endl;
        }
    }
    else
    {
        abort();
    }

out.close();

return 0;
}

jBat describes one way write data to file. You must decide what you want to write to file. The 0x notation won't appear as such in a text file using jBat's protocol. Instead what will appear is the char represented by the integer (0x...) in whatever character set (often ASCII or Unicode) is refered to by the compiler. If you want the Ox... representation of the character to appear in the file you will need a slightly different protocol, though the file writing part of what jBat wrote will (likely) remain pertinent.

to start this could help :

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <cstdlib>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    char peer1_0[] = {0x0c, 0x4c, 0x08, 0x00 };

ofstream out("out.txt");

if(out.is_open())
    {
        int array_elements = sizeof(peer1_0) / sizeof(char);