Ok...I have a very basic question...how do I attach my database when I'm turning my c#.net code into a setup file?
I'm just learning and I'm sorry if you feel this a too basic question...:)

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

>I'm just learning and I'm sorry if you feel this a too basic question.

In fact, your question is not basic. I would like to suggest you to read this article thoroughly.

If you decide to write a database installer, you must first choose a technology on which to base the installer. In Windows, the most common types of application installers are MSI files, which you can build using Visual Studio® .NET or third-party products such as InstallShield Developer or Wise for Windows Installer

With visual studio, you have an option of creating setup project/merge module project/cab project. But I think as per your question of deploying an exe, set up project would work for you.
Setup projects allow you to create installers in order to distribute an application. The resulting Windows Installer (.msi) file contains the application, any dependent files, information about the application such as registry entries, and instructions for installation. When the .msi file is distributed and run on another computer, you can be assured that everything necessary for installation is included; if for any reason the installation fails (for example, the target computer does not have the required operating system version), the installation will be rolled back and the computer returned to its preinstallation state. Check the detailed steps for creating this at: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/996a3fxs(VS.80).aspx

Also, to streamline your database to be included in the installer, you have to study the detailed steps at: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/cc163919.aspx