Hello Daniweb! I'm a beginner and C, and trying to make a program that asks a question in the main and takes an input from the user which jumps to the appropriate function. Here is the source.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <math.h>

void cm(){
	float a;
	double b;

printf("Enter a number in Inches to be converted to CM:");
	scanf("%f", &a);

b = a * 2.54;

printf("%f", b);
}

int main()
{
	float inch, restart;
do {

printf("Enter 1 to convert inches to cm, anything else to quit");
	scanf("%f", &cm);

if ( inch == 1 )
	{
		cm();
	}
	else 
	{
		system("exit");
	}
	printf("Press 1 to restart, anything else to quit");
	scanf("%f", restart);}
while (restart == 1);
}

It compiles, but doesn't give the results I need, instead it gives me one warning,

Warning	1	warning C4700: uninitialized local variable 'restart' used.

Can anyone help?

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

scanf("%f", restart);

should be

scanf("%f", &restart);}

line 24 is passing the address of a function to scanf?
I think you meant scanf("%f", &inch); line 35 you need to pass the address of restart scanf("%f", &restart);

Thank you and gerard4143 , both of you. I made the corrections and the program seems to work.

I have a question though, when is it okay to use int, double or float?

Another question, how do I take an input string from a user?

#include string.h

char[10]//example

printf("%s",);

I'm completly lost on that?

int variables only hold integer values (-12, 0, 5, 9)
float and double variables hold floating point values (-3.6, 0.1, 5.3, 9.0)

doubles have more precision as to the number of significant digits, but consume more memory.

I prefer to use int (or long) values when an integer value is appropriate as operations using integer values are much faster than their floating point equivalents. I only use doubles for floating point values unless I have a need to use less memory, disk space or bandwidth.