This is my first post in the Dani community. I am brand new to java, 5 weeks into an intro to computer programming course. My assignment is to create 10 random numbers between 50 and 100. Then I am supposed to sort them from lowest to highest, find the average and the max and min. I have got all but the sorting down. i have been struggling so much with this class I cant believe I got this much, any help in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

package tenrandomnumbers;

import java.util.Scanner;
import java.util.Random;

public class TenRandomNumbers {

public static void main(String[] args) {
        // TODO Auto-generated method stub
        int[] Random;
        Random = new int[10];
        int count = 0;
        double average = 0;
        int Max = 0;
        int Min = 100;
        int sum = 0;
        int number = 0;

for (count = 0; count < 10; count++){
            number = 50 + (int)(Math.random()*50);
            Random[count] = number;
            System.out.println(Random[count]);
            sum = sum + number;
            average = sum/10;
            while(Random[count]>Max)
                Max=Random[count];
            while(Random[count]<Min)
                Min=Random[count];
    }
        System.out.println("The average is: " + average);
        System.out.println("The highest number is " + Max);
        System.out.println("The lowest number is " + Min);

}

}

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Welcome to Daniweb! If you want to post code in the future, please use the code tags (read the 2 announcement posts at the top of the forum). The code tags just make the code easier to read.

As far as sorting is concerned, you have 2 options: you can create your own sorting algorithm or use a predefined one.

1: Creating your own algorithm:
There are several different sorting approaches you can use. The 2 most basic while still fairly efficient sorts are Selection Sort and Insertion Sort.