Hi all,
I'm just learning C# and completed a book exercise. They had a different answer and I'm not sure the difference between the two.

The way I did a method was like this:

public int ShiftsLeft {
return shiftsToWork - shiftsWorked;
}

However, when I looked at the book they had written:

public int ShiftsLeft {
get {
}
}

Can someone tell me the difference between the two (if there is one) please as it confused me as to why they had done it like that.

Many thanks for any light you can shed on this

John

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Your first example is a syntax error because it's neither a method nor a property. If you add a parameter list, it works and becomes a method:

public int ShiftsLeft() {
}

>Can someone tell me the difference between the two
Methods are named executable blocks of code that take a predetermined number and type of parameters and return a single value (possibly of type void). Properties are a controlled interface around (typically) a single class field. Let's look at it from the perspective of a lack of properties:

class Test {
  private int _field;
}

Let's say you want to give public access to _field, but you still want _field itself to be private. Unrestricted access could break your class' assumptions about that field. For the sake of argument, say the value of _field should be in the range of [0,100).

In the absence of properties, one might use methods for the interface:

class Test {
  private int _field;

public int GetField() { return _field; }
  public void SetField(int value)
  {
    if (0 <= _field && _field < 100) {
      _field = value;
    }
  }
}

Then callers can access _field through the restricted interface and all is well, yes?

Test foo = new Test();

foo.SetField(55);
Console.WriteLine(foo.GetField());
foo.SetField(10000);
Console.WriteLine(foo.GetField());

The syntax is kind of awkward, but it's not horrible. Properties are simply another way to do the same thing with a more intuitive syntax: