Hi,
I'm new to C++. I'm having trouble detecting space bar as an input. I'm unfamiliar with using the char data type. I've tried using ASCII decimal numbers but only detects the '.' . And I'm unsure how to go about this without using string or anything advanced.

char canvas;
		cin >> canvas;

while(canvas < 32 || canvas > 46 || (canvas > 32 && canvas < 46)){	//input check
		cout << "Error: Canvas choice can only be 'space' or .\n";
		cout << "Choose either . or space\n";
		cin >> canvas;
	}

if (canvas == 32){
	}
	else if (canvas == 46){
	}

space bar = 32, . = 46

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

>> will read to the next whitespace. ie. space character so it wont pick up your space. Do you have to use space? You can explicitly read the next char from the stream though. Check out the other stream functions available to you. Is there anything else you could use.

Yes it has to be space. Preferably input >> space bar then enter, which is what I'm trying to do.

Yes it has to be space. Preferably input >> space bar then enter, which is what I'm trying to do.

Ok then, so what other stream input functions are available to you?

Or you should investigate whether or not you can change the delimiter used by >>...

Ok then, so what other stream input functions are available to you?

I can use cin.getline / get, if that is what you are referring to?

Also, I was thinking about assigning another char variable to = space and if "space" typed in then canvas = spacebar value = 32, not sure if this would work, any thoughts?

Yes you could use those functions. But if you must use the >> operator and the space character then try to investigate if you can change the delimiter used. Or another approach might be to see whether you can change the way >> works to ensure it picks up the initial whitespace char.

here is the solution

char c;
std::cin.get(&c, 2, '\n');

here is the solution

char c;