Hello, I am a non-cs student who has not really had any prior experience with C++ besides coding up a few simple programs on my own time.

I am trying to implement the A* pathfinding algorithm and I have all of the logic figured out and written down in pseudo-code, but the implementation has got me banging my head against the wall. I just spent the last 40 minutes searching these forums and google, but I can't seem to find the answer to my question on what syntax do I use to declare a matrix?

I am trying to hardcode a 5x5 matrix that will store values which I define.

Here is my code that I have written, but I know this isn't right because I tried to compile this in terminal and I got a whole lot of errors:

#include "math.h"
#include <iostream>

using namespace std; 

int main()
{
double distance[][] = 0; 	
int x = 5;
int y = 5;

//set the matrix to be 5x5 and assign every element to be 0
distance[x][y] = 0; 

//view matrix in terminal 
cout << distance << endl;

return 0;
}

Could someone also tell me how to access/assign elements in a matrix correctly, or just direct me to an article that goes over the syntax on how to do this?

Also, another nooby question, but I was wondering how to compile and run this code in linux properly.

I type: g++ astartest.cc

then I see an a.out file in my folder and I try to type gcc a.out and ./a.out but neither work properly.

I know that this is really simple stuff, but I tried looking around for it and just found a lot of articles/threads that seem above my level since everyone knows how to declare matrices.... :P

Thanks a lot to anyone that decides to help!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

The following link will help you regarding matrix syntax:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/618511/a-proper-way-to-create-a-matrix-in-c

Ok, so I read through the article, and there is a lot of syntax I have never seen before such as the double colon (::) in front of variables it seems.