i am currently new to c++ coding and i have been working on this code for a class, i am suppose to get emails from a .txt file and the program reads each line of the file analyzing each and every char of every line to see if it is a valid email address. for example: [email]johndoe@yahoo.com[/email] = valid, [email]john@doe@yahoo.com[/email] = invalid.

right now im having trouble getting the program to process each line and print to the console the valid email address only.

any help would be great. thanks.

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
  ifstream fin;
  ofstream fout;

string line;
  string inputemail;
  cout << "Enter input filename [default: fileContainingEmails.txt]: ";
  getline(cin, inputemail);
  fin.open(inputemail.c_str());

cout << endl;

string Emails;
  int i;
  while (getline(fin, Emails))
  {
      for (i = 0; i < Emails.length(); i++)
      {
          if (Emails[i] == '@')
          {
              cout << Emails[i] << endl;
          } // if
      } // for
  } // while

cout << endl;

// output file section
  string outputemail;
  cout << "Enter output filename [default: copyPasteMyEmails.txt]: ";
  getline(cin, outputemail);
  fout.open(outputemail.c_str());

fin.close();
  fout.close();

cout << endl;
  cout << "Input File: " << inputemail << endl;
  cout << "Output file: " << outputemail << endl;

return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

You are looking for the @ and printing the address as soon as you have found it.

What you need to do is count the number of @ in the string then once the loop has finished if and only if you have exactly 1 @ print the address.