hello frns.. :icon_smile:
i am in need of a code that does the following very very urgently.. please please help me !!!

read strings from a text file "text1.txt" (which are stored 1 per line without spaces) and store these strings in a string array A[].
then read strings from one more file "text2.txt" and store it in another string array B[]
create a string array C[] which contains the strings from B[] but without duplication of strings. 
read strings from another text file "text3.txt" and store it in a string array D[]
now create a string array E[] which contains all the strings from C[] but without strings which are also in D[]. i mean : E[] = C[] - D[].
now write all the strings in E[] to a file "text4.txt"

please i need it very urgently. This code is a back end for a part of the GUI of my project. i'm not good at programming with input/output of files.

thank u soo much...

-Mith

Recommended Answers

All 20 Replies

Sounds like homework to me...Lets see what you have so far.

Actually this is a part of my project.. I'm mostly working on visual basic. but this c part is troubling me. i am fine with C but the file I/O i feel a bit complicated. i write those file "text1.txt" "text2.txt" so on through VB.

OK let me explain u my project in brief

I access a database for the attributes of a particular table or tables.
Then i accept some functional dependencies from the user.

the user dependencies are of the form

{att_x_1, att_x_2,...} -> {att_y_1, att_y_2,....}

here
att_x are attributes and are called LHS or X-part of a functional dependency
and
att_y are attributes and are called RHS or Y-part of a functional dependency

i store the attributes accessed from the database in file "text1.txt"
X-part attributes in "text2.txt"
Y-part attributes in "text3.txt"

now to find the primary key what i need to do is...
i need all the X-part attributes without repeating any attribute and delete those attributes which are present on the Y-part.

so