Hi,
I am new to regular expressions, I am having a problem regarding matching a specific keyword in certain condition.

string regexstring="\\bhtml\\b|[.]net\\b";
Regex rgx = new Regex(regexstring, RegexOptions.IgnoreCase);
MatchCollection matcol = null;
            string st_data = "I am a .net developer, but also know about asp.net, vb.net ; I work on c#/asp.net platform. I also know dhtml, html4.0, html/xml etc etc.";
//I want the regex to capture all occureneces for html where html is a word seperated \b-->word boundary or is surrounded by decimals like html4.0 above.
            st_data = System.Web.HttpUtility.HtmlDecode(Regex.Replace(st_data, @"<(.|\n)*?>", string.Empty));
            matcol = rgx.Matches(st_data);

foreach (Match mat in matcol)
            {
                //I WILL GET the mat.value here.
            }

I tried various variations but of no use.

I want to match html4.0 but some how I need only html out of it.kind of substringed match.

I hope You understand my point.

Please help

any help shall be appreciated.
Thanks
shankbond

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

I have this so far string regexstring = @"\bhtml(\d+(\.(\d*))?)?\b|[.]net\b"; It returns 6 matches: ".net", ".net", ".net", ".net", "html4.0", "html"
But I think you want the "htlm4.0" to match as "html" only. Is that right?

I have this so far string regexstring = @"\bhtml(\d+(\.(\d*))?)?\b|[.]net\b"; It returns 6 matches: ".net", ".net", ".net", ".net", "html4.0", "html"
But I think you want the "htlm4.0" to match as "html" only. Is that right?

Unfortunately yes :)

Got it

string regexstring = @"\bhtml(?=\d+(\.\d*)?\b)?|\.net\b";

No I haven't. It matches htmllkasjdf aswell

Try this one

string regexstring = @"\bhtml\b|\bhtml(?=\d+(\.\d*)?)|\.net\b";

Try this one

Thanks that worked.

Can You please explain the regex You used?
I don't understand the \bhtml(......)the part in the paranthesis