Hi, can anybody help me? i am relatively new to C Programming. My question is : How do you create a program which will take a filename as an argument, check whether the file is present and open it (if the file is not present create that file). Thanks

-Kartik

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Smells like homework so post your best effort and we'll help ya fix it.

My question is : How do you create a program which will take a filename as an argument, check whether the file is present and open it (if the file is not present create that file).

Use the form:

int main(int argc, char *argv[])

Check for argc being greater that 1. Try to fopen argv[1]. If it doesn't open, ...

Ok, this is not the biggest dificulty in the world:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <conio.h>
#include <dir.h>
void main(int argc, char **argv)
{
   FILE *in;
   if (searchpath(argv[1]))
          { 
           printf("File exists");
           in=fopen(argv[1],"r");
          }
   else {
           printf("File does not exist\nCreate?y/n") ;
           char c=getch();
           if (c=='n'||c=='N') return;
           else 
                { 
                 in=fopen(argv[1],"r");
                }
         } 
}

The point is, you must run it from the DOS shell and type:
exist.exe (exist is the name of this program) file.dat

Hope it helps :)

>this is not the biggest dificulty in the world
Judging from your code, apparently it is.

>Hope it helps
No, as a matter of fact, it doesn't. Your code is non-portable, and very poorly written. If giving the OP a freebie doesn't get him expelled, you'll have taught him bad habits. So no, you've hurt more than helped. Shall we go over the bad parts of your code?

>#include <conio.h>
Not portable, this will only work on Windows compilers that support Borland's conio.h header. Most of the time, conio.h is unnecessary and ignorant people include it so that they can use getch() for no good reason.

>#include <dir.h>