Hi,

I'm new to C++ but I have a Java background. Up until now I have been using header files to define my external classes.

However, I've been reading a book, C++ How to Program, and they use the header as an interface (define the prototypes of a class, I think they're called), and use another file (.cpp) to define the class functions.

They don't say why they do this. My functions work fine in the header file, and in Java you use the one file to define an external class. I just think it's just more typing you have to do and I don't see, yet, any advantages to it.

Can some enlighten me? Should I continue using header files this way?

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Well for small projects it ok to put everything in the header files, but as the project grows it will become more and more inconvenient. Since you have read stuff on C++ I will not repeat to much that the "philosophy" behind headers and cpps is to declare classes and functions in the header and implement (or define) them in the cpp.

In practice, when you compile a C++ project, you typically compile a bunch of cpp files together in an executable, an object file (.o), a static library (.a or .lib) or a shared library (.so or .dll). These contain the executable code, already compiled. So in the case of object files and static libraries, they contain the compiled version of your implementation (in the cpp files) and what they contain is declared in all the header files relevant to which cpp files you compiled into these object files and static libraries.