Hello all im new to prgramming and ive gotten to a dead end where im hoping some of you people can help me!

Basically i am trying to make a media player that opens pictures audio and video into seperate forms, so i have 4 forms main form where i have used an openFileDialog to select file types, the openFileDialog is excecuted from a menuStrip which has the 3 video pictures and audio options.

What i am stuck on is the pictures part i have managed to get the openFileDialog to open and be flitered to jpeg and bitmaps etc and once a picture file is selected ive managed to open the pictures form where i want the picture to open into a picture box on that particular formmy problem is exactly that trying to get the picture open into that form and into that picturebox.

I have got the following code so far:

private void pictureToolStripMenuItem_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            String Chosen_File = "";

ofSelectMedia.InitialDirectory = "C:";
            ofSelectMedia.Title = "Select An Image";
            ofSelectMedia.FileName = "";
            ofSelectMedia.ShowDialog();

Chosen_File = ofSelectMedia.FileName;

frmPictureViewer frmMediaPlayer = new frmPictureViewer();
            frmMediaPlayer.Show();

Please help! :(

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

I don't get you. To load the image opened in openFileDialog and set it as pictureBox's image, you can simpl use:

Image img = Image.FromFile(Chosen_File);
pictureBox1.Image = img;

I don't get you. To load the image opened in openFileDialog and set it as pictureBox's image, you can simpl use:

pictureBox1.Image = img;

Thanks for your reply i want the image to displayed in a picturebox on another form not in the same form as the openFileDialog. So when the file is selected ie the image it opens up form2 and displays the image in the pictureBox on that form! Do you get me?

You can pass the file path to the new form in its constructor:

public partial class frmPictureViewer : Form
{