Hi,

I'm looking for a book on C++...now before you flame me I did read the sticky "Read Me:C++ Books" and found the list interesting but for me uninformative...Why? I'm not really sure what C++ level I'm at currently. Let me elaborate...Here's my experience with the C family of languages..

I've been programming daily in the C language for about two years now, so I'm comfortable with the language but C++?? Well I did read/work through Sams 'Teach Yourself C++ in 21 Days' and have been picking at the language(C++) on again and off again for some time now but feel I need a book to take me to the next level(past beginner)..Do you know of one that doesn't spend too much time on the basics but has a nice continuity(beginner to intermediate...leaning more to intermediate) to it? Many thanks Gerard4143

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Are you looking for the C++ book to learn industry level skills.
Then the answer is you can't.

These days I'm participating my first days with my client , and he needs everything
professionally.I think that I already got enough bookish skills/knowledge in C++
enough that I needed. But I did fail with my client, I prove myself even I don't
know how to do a code review in a efficient way.I don't think that on job experience
can be obtained through the books.
There are many things to learn,such as how to work with a large codebase, traditions
of working with CMS tools,coding styles communication with other team members etc.

but a good site to get that experience (but nothing like on job experience).
http://www.codinghorror.com/

Believe me working with a real client is really hard, I think it will be easy
after the practice.

I'm biased, of course; but I think that Accelerated C++ is pretty close to what you're looking for; it definitely has a tutorial narrative, so it's intended to be read sequentially (unlike many that are essentially reference books) and it covers quite a bit more material than most introductory books.