hello im new with python and i want to you ask a question.
is there any function like switch on C++ ?

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

Standard answer îs that for fixed values use dictionary lookup, otherwise use if...elif...else.. Learn to use 'in' check in condions. If you want we can recode some meaningfull switch using C snippet in Python.

An if ... elif ... elif ... sequence is a substitute for the switch or case statements found in other languages.

Source

Cheers and Happy coding

Thanks to both of you
Just one more question
is there fucntion like goto on C++
I was thinking something with class but i dont know how to call it to code. :D

You can use break to get out of loops and continue to continue iteration from next value.

If you want to jump out deeper from loop I recommend to move the inner loops to function and do return from there.

Yea thanks a lot all ! (:

Switch/case is rather slow in C or C++ and therefore was not implemented in Python. You can however use the much faster dictionary look-up to mimic a switch/case type function ...

# a dictionary switch/case like statement to replace
# multiple if/elif/else statements in Python

def switch_case(case):
    return "You entered " + {
    '1' : "one",
    '2' : "two",
    '3' : "three"
    }.get(case, "an out of range number")

# Python2
#num = raw_input("Input a number between 1 and 3: ")
# Python3
num = input("Input a number between 1 and 3: ")
print( switch_case(num) )

Note: Sorry about the confusing statement above. A C style switch/case statement in Python would have been too slow. To be general, it would have to be usable with all object types and not just be limited to integers and single characters.

Switch/case is rather slow in C or C++ and therefore was not implemented in Python.

Switch/case is slow in C or C++? Not in my experience. Do you have evidence to support this claim?

I think it's easy as making a case and a for loop and testing them.

Cheers and Happy coding