Dear DANIWEB community members,

I am a newbie with Windoze programming, and I hope you could help me going with my project as I have a really just a technical question:

I have a simple GUI with some buttons and text boxes defined in a form .h file, and I have some custom functions that run in Main() in the .cpp file. Amongst the other stuff, my functions return various status messages like 'Socket initialized, IP<blah>:<blah>' and error codes...

I have the non-editable text box in which I would like to display all that stuff, but apparently I cannot get to it from main()!!! This is most odd experience: I have the header included, the form's class and its members (all those boxed) defined in the included header.. and I cannot seemingly use it!

For now, I have to run my functions inside the event handlers which I think is not a very nice and structured way to do it. Besides, the other stuff that my functions return is rather useful and it does not get passed beyond the scope... I really would like to make use of main()... so how do I communicate with the TextBox (and with other controls for that matter) in the form from main()?

Thank you so much, and I'd really be grateful to someone taking a couple of minutes of their time to get me going!

I know there got to be some method like GetObjectByName() or something? Microsoft's Documentation is really bad: it looks like they got lost in some of their stuff by now and barely generate the class descriptions via scripts... and use it for help...

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I'm assuming this is a non-managed program, not Windows Forms which is managed cli/c++.

Why don't you call win32 api MessageBox(), which can be called from main().

main() can use the other windows controls providing it knows about the window's HWND handle.