I'm working on a self-project called 'Project Calculus' (Not that you care about the name). It's a huge calculator that works cross-platform and only uses 'already implemented' modules (So no SymPy, no NumPy, no SciPy, et cetera.) in it.

I need help (If you even bother to cooperate with a newb x]), and here is what I need help on.

- replacing variables with something else, like this:

x = x-4
# Say you have x^2 - 4*x. Now replace all x with (x-4).
# I would like the result to be something like (x-4)^2 - 4*(x-4).

- simplify algebraic expressions:

(x-4)^2-4*(x-4)
# Simplify this to get -12*x+32+x^2.

- rearrange expressions to proper degree order:

-12*x+32+x^2
# Change to x^2-12*x+32

Obviously, 90% of you would not want to help me on such an absurd script, also because I'm a beginner. But I'd appreciate help, and if I appreciate your posts, I would be happy to add you to the credits. x]

So, uh... I don't necessarily care about the 3rd (rearranging order by degree). That's perfectly optional. :P

Also, if you have something like "do it yurself, i dunt care", your statement shall be ignored. If you say "Do some work" and not give me a code (even a tiny snippet), fine by me. All depends on whether your tip was useful. If you say "This is not a project for a beginner", I understand. But I do have experience with Python (although very limited).

If you think I'm trying to think I'm trying to boss all you around, I'm not. Whether you help me or not is all up to you. I'll admit I'm kind of self-centered, though. >.>

So, um.... I'll end this post now.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies