Thank you very much for reading this. I've been programming for 15 years (VB, a lot of PHP, etc), but I've never considered myself a 'real' programmer. Mainly I'll build things that I need that are too specialized to be made by anyone else - simple programs and scripts to make life easier. I've managed to do what I needed without having to bother other people, but this time I'm a bit out of my depth. Before anyone jumps on me for not having a strong programming background or spending the weeks and months learning everything about C#, let me explain: My day job is in an unrelated field, I go to school at night, I'm married, and I have three great children. I've picked up and read through HeadFirst C#, but I'm having a hell of a time relating it to my own project. So I'm begging help from you guys ;)

I'm running .NET4.0 / VS 2010 on a Win7-64 machine.

I'm trying to create a program that will allow me to spawn boxes onto the screen to hold notes (Notebox) - similar to StickyNotes from Microsoft and 'bubbl.us' on the web. Each Notebox will have two textBoxes ('titleTextBox' and 'contentTextBox') and 3 control buttons (clickToMove, spawnNotebox, and delete). They're all arranged on backgroundImage (to make it easy to see). I've got the textBoxes hooked up to a SQL DB, and I've got the Notebox moving around the screen just fine. My problem is that I'm failing to understand how to create a new instance of the Notebox. While playing around with the Clone method, I managed to make an exact copy of the original Notebox appear, but it held the same information as the original and used the same row in the DB.

I'd like the user to be able to click on spawnNotebox and have another blank Notebox appear - with its own row in the DB and ready to recieve input. I realize I'm making some obvious rookie mistakes, but after strugging with it all last week I figured I'd better get help from some experts.

Ok, so the question is: How do I make a new and independent copy of my Notebox?