I made a flowchart that will print counting numbers 1-10 automatically, and I'm supposed to print their sum and average at the end. Now, I have to convert the flowchart into three Java programs: For, While, DoWhile.

I'm having a bit of a problem on the flowchart and the programs. Can someone please help? Thanks in advance.

Btw, I'm kinda new to Java, so if ya'll can just dumb it down a bit. Lol. Not too dumb though.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

I made a flowchart that will print counting numbers 1-10 automatically, and I'm supposed to print their sum and average at the end. Now, I have to convert the flowchart into three Java programs: For, While, DoWhile.

I'm having a bit of a problem on the flowchart and the programs. Can someone please help? Thanks in advance.

Btw, I'm kinda new to Java, so if ya'll can just dumb it down a bit. Lol. Not too dumb though.

First, let's go over the three kind of loops - for, while and do while

1. The for statement
    The for loop enables you to iterate over a range of values in an easy way. Syntax:
    for (initialization; termination; increment) {
        //do something
    }

The initialization expression initializes the loop and it is only executed when the loop begins. The termination expression is such that when it evaluates to false, the loop terminates. After each loop iteration the increment statement is invoked, incrementing the variable as we see fit. We can of course decrement it as well. Examples:

for (int i =0; i < 10; ++i) {
        //do something
    }

This code will initialize an integer variable named i to get the initial value of 0. The loop will iterate as long as i < 10, meaning for i-0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9 - 10 iterations. Each iteration, the value of i will be incremented by 1.

for (int i =0; i < 10; i=i+2) {
        //do something
    }

This time i will be incremented by 2 each iteration meaning that i's values will be 0,2,4,6,8 - 5 iterations overall.

for (int i = 10; i > 0; --i) {