Hello. I am relatively new to C++ programming, and I have a question about a program that I am supposed to write. The assignment reads...

Prompt the user for a word; call it SEARCH. Then begin reading words from the user, counting them until SEARCH is entered. Display how many words were entered until the SEARCH word was found. Run the program first to see the expected output. Use a WHILE loop to do this.

This is what I wrote.

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;
int main()
{
string search = "";

int count = 0;
cout << "Enter a search word: ";
do
{getline (cin, word);
count++;
}
while (search != "");
cout << count << endl;
}

I am not sure why this does not run. If I type in a word E.G. (while (search != "ok") it runs like it is supposed too, but the program the prof. uses randomly generates words, and the output is always 4. I do not see what I am doing wrong here. Any help is appreciated. Thank you!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

If you don't see why the program doesn't work, I suggest that you go through the program a line at a time and explain to us what each line does and why you are confident that it is correct.

If you don't see why the program doesn't work, I suggest that you go through the program a line at a time and explain to us what each line does and why you are confident that it is correct.

{
string search = ""; - Identifies variable

int count = 0; - sets counter
cout << "Enter a search word: "; - output
do - beginning of loop
{getline (cin, word); - user input
count++; - counter
}
while (search != ""); - ends loop 
cout << count << endl; - output
}

I am not sure why it does not work. When I run the program on my compiler it works, but the program my professor uses the program returns 4 every time no matter what the word is. That is why I so not get the issue. If I put "hello" in the while (search != "") statement, and I type "hello" the counter works for me, so I am at a loss.