I'm relatively new to java, so please bear with me. Anyway, I've written a program that makes use of both images and audio, and I'm trying to package these into the .jar file. My goal is to be able to run the program without requiring any files besides the jar. Ive found that I can just add the images to the root of the jar using 7zip, but this doesn't work with the audio.

I'm using the jar and class found at http://www.cs.princeton.edu/introcs/faq/mp3/mp3.html to play mp3 files and reduce file size. It seems that this method doesn't work with files packaged into the jar I run. What can I do? Is setting a relative classpath likely to help? If it is, how do I use it? If I can't manage to package the audio, is there another (simple) way to play mp3 files (or some other compressed format) in a java program that would work?

Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Thanks for the response, but the article didn't help. Using eclipse, I've already managed to extract all needed jars into my final one. I think the problem lies in this. When I ran the project from eclipse, I needed to put the images in the bin directory but the audio went in the project root. I think that the audio player is looking for the audio in a folder above the jar file/bin directory. How can I change this behavior or add a directory above the main jar?

Have you tried to do drag&drop these files into src/ of the Project Explorer (Eclipse) and then select "copy"?

That's a really cool tip! I didn't know you could do that, but it doesn't work for the audio. It worked great for the images, though. When exporting, eclipse just put the new files in the root of the jar, and I think the audio has to be above the directory of the classes.

Currently, the folder structure looks like "Export.jar>classes and stuff", but I think it has to look like "Export.jar>audio files>classes and stuff", if that makes any sense at all.