Hi there,

I am new to C++ programming. What I want to do is, after I browse for a file using openFileDialog and after transforming the path from a System::String into a Char * what I want to do is to use the file`s path to open that file, but with simple \ between the root folders C++ doesn`t let me do that so I want to add another \ after every existing \ from the example path:C:\Users\NINJAH\Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\myfile.txt so it will become C:\\Users\\NINJAH\\Documents\\Visual Studio 2008\\Projects\myfile.txt.
What I`ve tried is:

for (int i=0;i!=sizeof(nstring);i++){
     if (nstring[i]= '\' )
	 nstring[i]=nstring[i]+ "\";
 }

but it doesn`t work.

Please help!

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

You don't understand the use of the double \\ in strings. The \ chacter in C/C++ is used as an escape sequence and tells the compiler to treat the following character differently from other characters. For example '\n' is a newline, '\t' is a tab (there are several others), and '\\' tells the compiler to treat \ as a character literal instead of as an escape characters.

That is all unnecessary when you have a character array that already contains \ charcters in a path. OpenFileDialog() will return a string that already contains \ folder seperator characters so it is not necessary to replace each \ with \\.

>> but with simple \ between the root folders C++ doesn`t let me do that
There has to be something else you have done wrong because single \ works for everyone else in the world. My guess is that when you add the file name to the path you didn't put a \ before the file name.

I don`t uderstand how it is possible because I`ve tried to open a file as follows:

ifstream infile("C:\Users\NINJAH\Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\myfile.txt");

but it does not work.

The thing is that I`ve tried to put double \ characters and it worked..no errors it reads from the file.