This is a simple game that I am bringing to a close.
It is called Slash and Smash.

The goal is to defeat the last opponent, who is a champion of the arena.
In the game player can use potions for health and energy,go to sleep, heal up, eat and drink, gamble, beg for money, improve level, use magic, get perks and many other things.

In the final stage of programing I'll add more perks and magic, complete all 22 enemys and I will put buy and sell system for items.

But before that, I ask you to help me with suggestions and ways to improve the code and the game itself.

SAS.zip

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

To be honest, the code is very poorly written. There's no discernible structure, almost to the point of calling it spaghetti code, and you go about things in a highly manual way. I won't go into specific coding advice because I'm totally disinclined to read through over 2000 lines of that junk.

I agree that it is poorly written. But I'm just a beginner and this is my first project.
So do you have a general suggestion to make the code simpler?

So do you have a general suggestion to make the code simpler?

Forget goto exists.

--CHARACTER CREATING-- // I strongly suggest you change this title into "CHARACTER CREATION"
Step 1/3
Enter your name:
// It's so simple. I think you should change this one, too. It goes something like this:
"Your Desired Name:"
OR
"What is your name?

I am <Enter player's name>"

Step 2/3
Select a class: // Change this into "What are you?" or "What do you want to be?" or "Desired Class"
1-- FIGHTER
2-- ASSASSIN
3-- MAGE

INPUT: <choose from the list>

---ARENA---
--MAIN ROOM--
You've come to test your strength?
Which of these three beauties will choose today?
HP = 12/12 EN 7/7 AP = 1 GP - 35

1-- Starving Prisoner
2-- Mountain Barbarian
3-- Elder Orc
10-- Exit from Arena

WHYNOT: <create new decision making conversations using switch statement again>
// I suggest that you don't show the player's status.

Welcome to the Arena.