I'm looking for a tool that can read text on a web page, or within a web-based document viewer, and insert a polling plugin of sorts at the end of each paragraph.

More specifically, I would like my website to display documents inside some kind of reader. Then, I'd like the ability to automatically insert a 'thumbs-up' or 'thumbs-down' button at the end of each paragraph or sentence. I know this could be done manually on a standard web page. But, I manage lengthy documents that are collaborated on by multiple individuals. A manual solution would be too time consuming.

I am not an IT professional. But, I've been told this would be a text parsing type of solution and the PERL community may be able to advise if such a thing exists, or inform if there are viable alternatives to what I'm trying to achieve.

Any insight would be appreciated

I'm looking for a tool that can read text on a web page, or within a web-based document viewer, and insert a polling plugin of sorts at the end of each paragraph.

More specifically, I would like my website to display documents inside some kind of reader. Then, I'd like the ability to automatically insert a 'thumbs-up' or 'thumbs-down' button at the end of each paragraph or sentence. I know this could be done manually on a standard web page. But, I manage lengthy documents that are collaborated on by multiple individuals. A manual solution would be too time consuming.

I am not an IT professional. But, I've been told this would be a text parsing type of solution and the PERL community may be able to advise if such a thing exists, or inform if there are viable alternatives to what I'm trying to achieve.

Any insight would be appreciated

Hello,

you could of course do this using Perl running as a CGI-Skript on a Webserver. But as I understand your idea, I would rather use PHP for this task. PHP for this kind of exercise has a much steeper learning curve.