Dear Friend,

I am new in ASP.Net with c#.

I want date in a dd/mm/yyyy format with validation in TextBox . Is anybody guide me how shall ?

As I got date with dd/mm/yyyy but it will also accept 32/02/2005. Though Feb has less 30 days.

Also when I compare two textbox it will not evalute properly. eg I want TextBox2 date greater then TextBox1. So I had used
CompareValidator, & select type="date" but it will not evalute.

Pl guide me.

Thanking You,

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

How about something like this

private void DateSubmit_Click(object sender, System.EventArgs e)
		{
			DateTime date1, date2;
			bool date1OK, date2OK;
			date1 = new DateTime(1,1,1);
			date2 = new DateTime(1,1,1);
			try
			{
				date1 = Convert.ToDateTime(Date1.Text);
				date1OK=true;
			}
			catch
			{
				date1OK = false;
			}
			try
			{
				date2 = Convert.ToDateTime(Date2.Text);
				date2OK=true;
			}
			catch
			{
				date2OK = false;
			}
			if(date1OK && date2OK)
			{
				if(date1.CompareTo(date2) > -1)lblResult.Text = "Date2 must be after Date1";
				else
				{
					//do whatever here
				}
			}
			else lblResult.Text = "Invalid date format. Please check your input in the Date1 and Date2 fields";
		}

You can use the asp:CustomValidator control of ASP.NET to achieve the mentioned functionality.

The HTML would look like:
<input type="text" id="TextBox1" runat="server" name="TextBox1">

<asp:CustomValidator Runat="server" ControlToValidate="TextBox1" EnableClientScript="False" ErrorMessage="Invalid DateTime Format"
ID="Customvalidator1" ClientValidationFunction="ValidateTextBox1" OnServerValidate="CustomValidaorMethod"></asp:CustomValidator>

and on server side (code behind of the page) you would have a public method like :

public void CustomValidaorMethod(object source, ServerValidateEventArgs args)
{
string valuePassed = string.Empty;
if(args.Value != null)
valuePassed = args.Value;
DateTime dt = DateTime.MinValue;
args.IsValid = true;
try
{