Hi, I'm new to Python and having difficulty opening my .py file (ex1.py).

In the command prompt I cd to the folder containing the file and when I try to open it nothing happens. The prompt just gives me a new line. It looks like this...

1. I open the prompt
2. "cd" to "c:\users\me\practicepython" (where my py file is located)
3. I then type ex1.py (the file contains "hello world")
4. I have also tried typing "python ex1.py"
5. The prompt does nothing, just returns with the commandline "c:\users\me\practicepython"

I can open Python by typing "python", I can edit the py file (ex1.py) but for some reason it will not execute within the prompt. Python is added to my Path as well. I am at a loss for what to do, any help would be much appreciated. Thanks !

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Try forcing the path to ex1.py: python .\ex1.py to see what happens. Be aware that I'm not a Windows user.

Try forcing the path to ex1.py: python .\ex1.py to see what happens. Be aware that I'm not a Windows user.

Unfortunately it gave me the same result. It just returned the same command line. It does stop for one second like it is doing something, but then returns the same line.

Try to write your code files and run them from the IDE that comes with the Python installation (called IDLE). The IDE will connect the working directory (where your code file is located) with Python.exe

See http://www.daniweb.com/forums/thread20774.html

Try to write your code files and run them from the IDE that comes with the Python installation (called IDLE). The IDE will connect the working directory (where your code file is located) with Python.exe

See http://www.daniweb.com/forums/thread20774.html

Tried to run it in IDLE, it will open my file in the editor but when I try to run it(f5) it just gives me

>>> ================================ RESTART ================================
>>>
>>>