Hi,

I am new to C# and Forms/GUIs.

Basically I am trying to pass a value in a textBox to my programs program.cs file where I can apply my programs logic, but I'm stuck with how to do this.

To get started all I am making is a form which takes two variables, and I want to add those variables together and display the sum in a third text box.

I am stuck though with getting the value entered by the user into my program.cs file where I can use it/add the two values together.

My skeleton app is as follows:

The GUI:
SCREEN SHOT

Form1.cs :

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.ComponentModel;
using System.Data;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Windows.Forms;

namespace MyApp
{
    public partial class Form1 : Form
    {
        public Form1()
        {
            InitializeComponent();
        }

private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            //get the value from the textBox1 and put it into the variable a in the class/object Program.a
            Application.Form1.a = this.textBox1.Text;//???????
        }
    }
}

Program.cs :

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Windows.Forms;

namespace MyApp
{
    public class Program
    {
        public string a = "";
        public string b = "";

static void Main()
        {
            Application.EnableVisualStyles();
            Application.SetCompatibleTextRenderingDefault(false);
            Application.Run(new Form1());
        }
    }
}

On line 22 of Form1.cs I am trying to pass the value in the textbox to the variable 'a', which is part of the class Program. This is not working though, the compiler reports:

error CS0117: 'MyApp.Program' does not contain a definition for 'Form1'

Been stuck for ages trying to figure this out now. I'm using Visual Studio 2008 on Windows & 64 bit.