Member Avatar for hfx642

I've been coding in Java for about six years now (personal projects only).
I follow the... Java, How to Program (Deitel, 5th ed.) book.
For a particular project, I've coded several Record structures, each in their own class file.
Is it possible to put ALL of my Record structures into ONE class file,
but still access each Record structure individually?
If so, how would I accomplish this task?
TIA!

Recommended Answers

All 20 Replies

well ... a bit far fetched and propably not the most efficiënt way:

if you have a class ClassObject, add a static collection in which you put all the ClassObjects you create.

might be a bit like:

ClassObject.addToList(new ClassObject());
ArrayList createdItems = ClassObject.getList();

with addToList and getList are static methods, that can work with the static list in the file.

I must say, though, my choice would be to keep the collection in a separate file.

Is this just a theoretical question, or is there some particular problem that you are trying to solve? If so, there may be other better ways to approach it.

Member Avatar for hfx642

I'm just trying to reduce the number of *.class files to handle record structures.
A single *.class file to handle all of my record structures.

In that case I would say don't do it. When it comes to reading or modifying code its far easier to deal with many well-named class files than one gigantic file.

Member Avatar for hfx642

Normally, I would agree with you!
But, once I know that a data file is being read and written correctly,
I would rather put all of that code into a single file (and *.class) and not bother with it again.
Anyways... I was just hoping.

He didn't say you couldn't, just that he wouldn't advise it - a sentiment I agree with, by the way.

If you really want to though, you can put them into a single file by making each of the inner classes static.

public class Structures{
    public static class FirstFormat{    }