Hello, I am a total beginner at c++

I am writing a console program and I am wondering how I should do to exit the
program, like if the user is asked

Do you want to continue ( yes/no) and the user enters no then I want the console
to shut down...

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Within main, finish the program with return 0;

std::string isShutdown;

std::cout << "Shutdown? Y/N" << std::endl;
std::cin >> isShutdown;

if (isShutdown == "Y")
{ return 0;}

You can also end a program by using abort() and exit(), but they place additional responsibilities on the conscientious programmer. Using return is the standard way.

do I need to include something to use exit()? The code you wrote wont shut the console down ...It makes the console write ...enter any key to continue..and the shut down

The console is not part of your program. If you have a console, and you start your program within that console, when your program finishes, that console will still be there.

It sounds to me like you're not starting the console, though; I expect your IDE is starting it for you, and then closing it for you afterwards. Are you running your program by typing its name into a command line, or by pushing a button on an IDE?

As I recall, what you describe is symptomatic of running a console program from within Visual Studio in debugging mode (SHIFT+F5 rings a bell). it's something your IDE does for you. If you don't want it, don't run in debug mode.

Use a if statement and a state variable.

int main(){
 bool shouldContinue = true;
 do{
    /***code here***/

//ask user if he want to continue
   char input;
   cout << "Continue(y/n) : " ;
   cin >> input;
   if(input != 'y') shouldContinue = false;
 }while(shouldContinue);

}

Will that actually solve the "problem" here? That a console does not automatically close itself when a program running within it finishes?