Hello,

I'm new in java and must make a dummy server client connection (webserver) that check if the client has the actual software (actual version) and send links (in .txt or something else, if any update available). I'd like to make a program as simple as possible.

I am using Eclipse Java EE IDE and Tomcat v6.0, and xml for the software lists.
Now, I can upload the client's list into server and this list is saved here:
C:\Users\Kemplu\Desktop\MTK\.metadata\.plugins\org .eclipse.wst.server.core\tmp0\wtpwebapps\Project\client.xml

I'd like now to compare that list with the server's list (is that ok?), but I don't know what I should do here, because I still have problem with importing java code into jsp.

<%@ page language="java" contentType="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" pageEncoding="ISO-8859-1"%>
<%@ page import="java.util.List"%>
<%@ page import="java.util.Iterator"%>
<%@ page import="java.io.File"%>
<%@ page import="java.lang.Object"%>
<%@ page import="junit.framework.Assert"%>
<%@ page import="org.custommonkey.xmlunit.XMLUnit"%>
<%@ page import="org.custommonkey.xmlunit.DetailedDiff"%>
<%@ page import="mtk.MyXMLTestCase"%> 

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">

<html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1">
<title>Check for Updates</title>
</head>
<%
    String myControlXML = "actual.xml";
    String myTestXML = "client.xml";

%>

<body>
Hulaa
<input type="button" value="Download" onclick="window.open('Link.txt')"></input>
</body>
</html>

Anyone has any suggestion?
I really appreciate any help, and sorry for my poor english.

Best regards,
Kem

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

if you really want to do this in a serious way: don't put java code in your jsp.
learn how to write/use servlets, and let them deal with your business logic.