Hi, I am a very new programmer, I started dabbling with python script only 2 days ago because I was on a quest to build a roguelike game, and I found a good informative tutorial on how to do this using python and an API called libtcod. So I figured why not? After 2 days of coding and trial and error. I was able to "reverse Engineer" some code and create a decent game. The game runs fine, But I need it to be a standalone program. I have tried "py2exe" but once my exe is finished I get Traceback Errors:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "rogue.py", line 1, in <module>
  File "libtcodpy.pyc", line 41, in <module>
  File "ctypes\__init__.pyc", line 428, in __getitem__
  File "ctypes\__init__.pyc", line 423, in __getattr__
  File "ctypes\__init__.pyc", line 353, in __init__
WindowsError: [Error 126] The specified module could not be found

I have already managed to get past my first problem, py2exe wasn't recognized my script's dependency on the libtcod API. But I foundout how to forcibly include them. but I can't figure out how to fix the traceback errors.

And let me reiterate, I am an absolute beginner to python script. Most of my code was borrowed from the tutorial I read. if anyone could help me it would be much appreciated. I have been trying to do this for about 4 hours straight. It's driving me crazy...

Contributors
Replies
Views
6 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by imGhostofYou

Some Help? Anyone? I would love to finish this game. it's at a good point at which I can build upon it.. And I do NOT want to scrap it..

utilizing modules like that may be a little above your "pay-grade" at the moment, I don't mean that offensively, I'd just stick with running the script. I'm not sure why you want to turn it into an .exe right now anyways, any reason?