Hi,
im very new to programming so i need some help.
Im currently trying to read the memory directly using pointers,
for example 23 stored in the memory for a float variable is: 41b80000
is there any way i can directly read this value from the memory and store it in an array?
Note: I tried to create a pointer which points to the memory location but when i dereference it, it gives me 23.
any ideas would be GREATLY appreciated, ive been working over this for almost 5 hours now.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

This code shows creating an int, creating a pointer to it, creating an array of pointers, storing the memory address as a plain int, and then using that plain int to get back the contents of the memory address.

It's C++ code to make outputting the values easy; the important code manipulating the pointers is plain C. If you've not got a C++ compiler to hand, it's here as well:

http://ideone.com/IZQgp

#include <iostream>

int main()
{
  int someInt = 7;
  int* p = &someInt;

// p now contains the address of someInt

// You could store it in an array if you like, as follows
  int* pointerArray[4]; // make an array of int pointers
  pointerArray[0]=p;

std::cout << p << std::endl;
  std::cout << pointerArray[0] << std::endl;

// now turn that memory address into a plain int
  int memoryAddress = (int)pointerArray[0];
  std::cout << std::hex << memoryAddress << std::endl;

// It's a plain int. You can store it in an array if you like

// Now use that plain int to get the original someInt value
  int* q = (int*)memoryAddress;
  std::cout << *q << std::endl;

// or directly
  std::cout << *(int*)memoryAddress << std::endl;

return 0;
}

Thanks ALOT Moschops
just one more thing, what does this line mean :
int* q = (int*)memoryAddress; ??
according to me, an integer pointer q is equal to original value of memory address?
more like what does the symbol (int*) mean
sorry for sounding like a complete newbie
and thanks again