Hey all,
I'm fairly new to C++ and am trying to write a program that continues asking the user for a number until "0" is entered. I am supposed to count the number of positive, negative, odd, and even numbers that the user has entered once the program is terminated(0 is entered by the user). I'm having trouble with the counting portion as all I get is zero each time for all the counts. Also, I am not supposed to count the "0" that is entered when the user wants to terminate the program. Can anyone kindly point me in the right direction?? Thank you....

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int main()
{
	int number = 1,odd = 0,positive = 0,negative = 0;
	while (number != 0)
	{
	cout << "Please enter a number (0 to exit): ";
	cin >> number;
	}
	if ((number%2 == 0) && (number != 0))
	{
		number++;
	}
	else if (number%2 != 0) 
	{
		odd++;
	}
	else if ((number > 0) && (number != 0))
	{
		positive++;
	}
	else if ((number < 0) && (number != 0))
	{
		negative++;
	}

cout << number << " even numbers" << endl;
		cout << odd << " odd numbers" << endl;
		cout << positive << " positive numbers" << endl;
		cout << negative << " negative numbers" << endl;

}

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Well as I don't expand gigantically I use backdoors. For example when you ask for imput increment number and have a if setup to subtract one from number if what the user entered is 0.
Ex:

cin>>tacos;
number++;
if(tacos==0){
number--;
}

please make sure this if is seperare from the rest of your ifs. Or else it won't happen. Ex in a chain of else ifs once it findes a liable if to go with the imput it won't cheap the others.
EDIT: You Are asking for variable number which is also the total number of numbers the user ha entered. Change the variable that counts the total number of numbers imputed and that should work now.