hey , I'm a beginner & need some help in C++ , I want to generate 4 unique numbers " any number isnt repeated within itself " I figured a way to generate 4 random numbers but they arent unique

srand((unsigned)time(0)); 
	      int number= (rand()%9999+1000);

, I also need to put these random numbers in an array so I could compare these random numbers to a punch of numbers that a user enters " I'm doing a number guessing game "

thx 4 advance 4 ur help & I really appreciate it :)

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

it's pretty easy to do.. just compare the number you with every occupied element in the array. if it is not in the array, add to array. else, try again.

std::set is a standard container that doesn't allow for duplicates. So, you can just do this:

#include <set>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <ctime>

int main() {
  srand((unsigned)time(0));
  std::set<int> numbers;
  while( numbers.size() < 4 )
    numbers.insert( rand() % 10 );
  return 0;
};

If its only 4 randomly generated numbers you need, then you can simply call rand() 4 times. It definitely should repeat just after 4 calls. Make sure you are using it correctly.

#include <iostream>
#include <ctime>
using namespace std;

int main(){
 srand( time(0) );
 for(int i = 0; i < 4; ++i){
   cout << rand()%9999+1000 << "\t";
 }
 return 0;
}

If its only 4 randomly generated numbers you need, then you can simply call rand() 4 times. It definitely should repeat just after 4 calls. Make sure you are using it correctly.

#include <iostream>
#include <ctime>
using namespace std;

int main(){
 srand( time(0) );
 for(int i = 0; i < 4; ++i){
   cout << rand()%9999+1000 << "\t";
 }
 return 0;
}

thx 4 ur help but I only need 1 number consisted of 4 unique digits , I need to know how to get only unique digits , thx :)