First of all, I'm new to GUI so I may have made some terrible mistakes..

right, so I have a two dimensional array of buttons and I need to identify which button in the array is clicked, hovered over, and hovered off. For now I just want my program to say:

"*click* I am button" + x + y //when a button is pressed
"*hover over* I am button" + x + y //when the mouse enters a button
"*hover off* I am button" + x + y //when the mouse exits a button

So far I’ve solved the clicking with getActionCommand()

for (int i = 0; i < buttons.length; i++){
    for (int j = 0; j < buttons[0].length; j++) {
        buttons[i][j].setActionCommand(i + "_"  + j);
        buttons[i][j].addActionListener( new ActionListener() {
            public void actionPerformed(ActionEvent e) {
                System.out.println("*click* I am button " + e.getActionCommand());
            }         
        });
    }
}

My real problem is the hovering because, as far as I know, the getActionCommand() isn't an option. I know of getComponent() however. This is my code so far:

buttons[i][j].addMouseListener(new java.awt.event.MouseAdapter() {
    public void mouseEntered(java.awt.event.MouseEvent evt) {
        //Print : "*hover over* I am button" + x + y
    }
    public void mouseExited(java.awt.event.MouseEvent evt) {          
        //Print : "*hover off* I am button" + x + y 
    }
});

My idea was to somehow save the x y coordinates of each button on the button object and then read it with getComponent().

I hope this wasn't too confusing.

Thanks in advanced.

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

identify which button in the array

In the listener you can call the Event class's getSource method to get a reference to the component causing the event.

To save information about a component/button (like where you put it in an array) you could use the JComponent's ClientProperties which is like a hashtable and has get and put methods.