Hello,

how can I make my program (I'm using dialog as main window) to "block" everything (like when u are running some program that needs admin permissions) so u won't be able to do anything until u select "yes" or "no" except minimize and exit

+ what's the message for minimize process? like WM_INITDIALOG etc..

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

This would be a modal dialog box. They block the rest of the application events until you process this dialog. See this Wikipedia article: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Modal_window

I wanna block EVERYthing, not only application

Not really possible. This would NOT be a "good thing" to do! It's one thing to block the current application until the user responds to the dialog. It is something else entirely to block the system. After 30+ years as a systems programmer I can say without qualm that to do so would be "suicide", especially with modern multi-tasking operating systems.

Not really possible. This would NOT be a "good thing" to do! It's one thing to block the current application until the user responds to the dialog. It is something else entirely to block the system. After 30+ years as a systems programmer I can say without qualm that to do so would be "suicide", especially with modern multi-tasking operating systems.

oh so Microsoft is "killing" their OS everytime they wanna permissions from user to some application when they BLOCK/DISABLE everything? too bad it's still working! so I can say without qualm that u have no idea what I want even if I described it in main post..

Windows does NOT stop the OS. It may intercept/block screen events, but that is NOT what you said.

Windows does NOT stop the OS. It may intercept/block screen events, but that is NOT what you said.

maybe u should start reading posts