Hello! I'm trying to write a program that will eventually carry out matrix multiplication (by another matrix and by a vector) among a few other methods for a homework assignment. However, the assignment says we first need to write a default constructor that creates the 3x3 Identity Matrix. I'm not sure how to write a default constructor. Up until now, I've written this:

public static int[][] create(int size) { 
    int[][] matrix = new int[size][size];
    for(int i = 0; i < size; i++)
      for(int j = 0; j < size; j++)
        matrix[i][j] = (i == j) ? 1 : 0;
    return matrix;

But this just makes an identity matrix when the user puts in the dimension (later). I know that a default constructor is what is used if nothing else specific is written for the program, but how does one write one? Is what I have at all close?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Also, for this assignment we're not supposed to use the matrix package at all - but seeing as I'm a total beginner, I'm not even sure how I would go about that anyway. I just thought that might be relevant!

Thank you - that did help me understand constructors a bit more. I'll keep those links!
Is it correct to say, then, that if I remove 'static' from what I posted above and let size=3, that will work as the default?

Thank you - that did help me understand constructors a bit more. I'll keep those links!
Is it correct to say, then, that if I remove 'static' from what I posted above and let size=3, that will work as the default?

I see no reason why it wont, the point though of a constructor should be where you declare all variables for the actual methods to accept then call these methods, so i wouldn't suggest putting actual coding in your constructor rather just set the variables needed for the methods to work the correct answers, and then call that method seperately.

public class create {
public static int size=0;
public create(int s1) {
size=s1;
}
    public static int[][] createMatrix() {