I'm a college student learning how to program in C. We recently got an assignment to transpose a list of names. We have to read in from a file a list of names and print them out and write to a file with the names going downwards.

I'm not asking for anyone to do my homework so please don't tell me that you won't because I know that. I simply need some pointers.

I'm going to use a 2 dimensional array as well as a double for loop for the printing.

Does anyone have any pointers on how to do this? Other than that I have nothing else. Thank you in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

you don't need a two dimensional array. Read a name from the file, then loop through the names that you have loaded until you find one that is less than this one. insert the name in the list before this entry.

when you are complete read the list from the start printing it as you go.

I understand what your saying but sadly, apparently we have to use a 2 dimensional array. Thank you for the input

A "list of names" by definition is a 2D array.
Each row is one name
Each column is one letter in each name.

So with this definition, I would have to run a double for loop to start printing letter by letter? In other words, I'd have to start printing the first letter of every name and then move onto the second and so on and so on?

Here is what I have so far.

#include <string.h>
#include <stdio.h>

char transpose_text(char names[20][60])
{
    int i, j;
    for (i=0;i<17;i++)
         for(j=0;j<60;j++)
             printf("%s", names[i][j]);

}

void main (void)
{
     FILE *pnames, *trans;
     char names[20][60];
     int i; /* first for loop variable */
     int j; /* second for loop variable */

pnames = fopen(file directory, "r");
     trans = fopen(file directory, "w");

while (fscanf (pnames, "%d", &trans) != EOF)
     {
          fgets(names, 60, pnames);
          printf("%s", names);
          fprintf(trans, "%s \n", names);
     }

transpose_text(names[20][60]);

getche();
}