OK, I am relatively new to C#, so in order to give myself a 'learning' project, I thought I'd update an application I wrote a couple of years ago.
The application uses a ListView control in "Details" mode to display MP3 tag data stored in an Access MDB database file.
The problem I have is that in VB6 the list (containing some 3000+ entries) is populated quite rapidly with only a minimal impact on form drawing that is barely noticeable.
However, in C#, there is a very noticable delay and interpution to the drawing of the form.

Here is the original VB6 code...

// Blank down any items we were displaying and set the Path as the sorted field.
    Call frmMain.lstCatView.ListItems.Clear
    lstCatView.SortKey = 6

// Check if there are any records in the Database.
    If DBHasData > 0 Then

// If we have something to browse, then get a list of every record.
        Set Rec = dbCat.OpenRecordset("SELECT * FROM Tracks WHERE 1")

// Step through each record and display it in the ListView control, sorted by Path.
        For tmpCntFiles = 0 To DBHasData - 1
            tmpDBRows = Rec.GetRows
            If tmpDBRows(5, 0) < 1 Or tmpDBRows(5, 0) > 255 Then
                frmMain.lstCatView.ListItems.Add (tmpCntFiles + 1), , "??"
            Else
                frmMain.lstCatView.ListItems.Add (tmpCntFiles + 1), , tmpDBRows(5, 0)
            End If
            If tmpDBRows(1, 0) = "" Then
               frmMain.lstCatView.ListItems(tmpCntFiles + 1).SubItems(1) = "<not specified>"
            Else
               frmMain.lstCatView.ListItems(tmpCntFiles + 1).SubItems(1) = tmpDBRows(1, 0)
            End If
            If tmpDBRows(2, 0) = "" Then
                frmMain.lstCatView.ListItems(tmpCntFiles + 1).SubItems(2) = "<not specified>"
            Else
                frmMain.lstCatView.ListItems(tmpCntFiles + 1).SubItems(2) = tmpDBRows(2, 0)
            End If
            If tmpDBRows(3, 0) = "" Then